In late 2017, rumours of a government-enforced ban on cryptocurrency trading in China was realized. Prominent Chinese exchanges such as Huobi and OKCoin were forced to close their operations in mainland China and moved overseas to neighbouring countries. To prevent Chinese citizens from continuing to access these cryptocurrency exchanges, the Great Firewall began blocking access to these websites, forcing traders to use VPNs to circumvent the censorship.

As of 2018, roughly 1/3 of global cryptocurrency exchanges are blocked in China. A list of cryptocurrency exchanges and their access status in China can be found below:

Cryptocurrency Exchanges Blocked in China

Exchange Status in China Blocked Since (YYYY-MM-DD) Country
Bitfinex blocked 2018-03-11 Hong kong
OKEx blocked 2017-09-01 Hong kong
Binance blocked 2018-03-08 Hong Kong
Huobi blocked 2018-03-17 Singapore
HitBTC blocked 2018-03-20 Hong kong
Bit-Z blocked 2018-03-17 Hong kong
Lbank blocked 2018-03-20 Hong kong
EXX blocked 2018-03-20 Australia
CoinEgg blocked 2018-03-17 UK
Exmo blocked 2018-03-20 England
Tidex blocked 2018-03-17 UK
Livecoin blocked 2018-03-17 UK
Coinbene blocked 2018-03-17 Singapore
YoBit blocked 2018-03-20 Russia
Bibox blocked 2018-03-20 USA blocked 2018-03-20 USA
Exrates blocked 2018-03-20 Armenia
AEX blocked 2018-03-20 Seychelles
BCEX blocked 2018-03-20 Canada
BX Thailand blocked 2018-03-20 Thailand
Fatbtc blocked 2018-03-20 USA
Kucoin blocked 2018-03-20 China
xBTCe blocked 2018-03-20 Russia
RightBTC blocked 2018-03-20 Dubai blocked 2018-03-20 Hong kong
ZB.COM blocked 2018-03-08 Samoa
BitMEX blocked 2018-03-08 Hong kong
EtherDelta blocked 2018-03-30 USA
Upbit okay Korea
bitFlyer okay Japan
Bithumb okay Korea
Bitstamp okay USA
Kraken okay USA
BTCC okay UK
Gemini okay USA
Bittrex okay USA
Poloniex okay USA
Coinone okay Korea
itBit okay USA
Bitbank okay Japan
Korbit okay Korea
CEX.IO okay UK
CoinsBank okay UK
BitBay okay USA
Paribu okay Turkey
Neraex okay Nigeria
LakeBTC okay China
WEX okay New Zealand
BTC Markets okay Australia
Luno okay UK
Negocie Coins okay Brazil
Coinfloor okay UK
Trade By Trade okay USA
ACX okay Australia
Bitinka okay USA
BTCTurk okay Turkey
Liqui okay Ukraine
Foxbit okay Brazil
QuadrigaCX okay Canada
GetBTC okay UK
Bitcoin Indonesia okay Indonesia
Bitso okay Mexico
Coinsquare okay Canada
Allcoin okay Canada
BL3P okay Netherlands
Simex okay USA
Ethfinex okay Hong kong
Mercado Bitcoin okay Brazil
Bitonic okay Netherlands
Zebpay okay India
BitMarket okay Poland
OTCBTC okay Taiwan
Independent Reserve okay Australia okay Netherlands
TOPBTC okay China
DSX okay UK
BTC-Alpha okay UK
Cryptopia okay New Zealand
CoinExchange okay Unknown
Quoine okay Japan
BTCBOX okay India
Fisco okay Japan
Zaif okay Japan
GOPAX okay Korea
Local Bitcoins okay Finland
Local Ethereum okay Australia
Local Monero okay Hong kong

There are no comments.

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>